The statute of limitations is a legal deadline imposed by the courts to bring a lawsuit or file your claim. The statute of limitations (SOL) to bring a personal injury lawsuit depends on the timing of the accident or injury causing incident. For example, in the state of California, a plaintiff or injured victim would need to file his or her lawsuit no later than 2 years from the date of the injury. If the injury was not discovered immediately, then the deadline to file is one year from the date the injury was discovered.
Various states apply different statutes of limitations and deadlines to bringing a personal injury action. For example, Florida applies a longer statute, allowing personal injury plaintiffs 4 years before filing their lawsuit. New Jersey carries a 2 year statute of limitations for such actions.
To apply for free, call (877) 735-0016
Click here to learn more about California law and rules governing personal injury actions. Failure to adhere to the statute risks losing standing to bring your claim altogether. Timing matters. If you or a loved one were injured in an accident involving negligence, retain an attorney today. Once you do so, you may apply to High Rise Financial for lawsuit funding to help expedite you receive cash while your case is pending or being litigated.
Call or text (877) 735-0016 or fill out our form to apply today for free.